jump to navigation

Equity wins silver in Houston April 22, 2008

Posted by Jeff in Labor, Movies, Theater, Zook.
trackback

Marie Dressler and chorus girls picketing, 1919

Above: Marie Dressler (foreground) and chorus girls from the Ziegfeld Follies picketing on Broadway, 1919.

My original screenplay Equity has been awarded a Silver Remi for Best Dramatic Screenplay at the 2008 WorldFest Houston International Film Festival.

I realized a long time ago that choosing a personal favorite from among my screenplays is like choosing which of your children you like best. Equity was the first script I seriously attempted to finish, and it had the longest and most convoluted gestation (during which time I set it aside to finish two other works).

So, even though people whose judgment I trust say I’ve written at least one better script, I freely admit that Equity has a special place in my heart.

Technorati tags: , , , ,

Comments»

1. robert van mackelenberg - April 23, 2008

Congratulations!! and once again thank you for the time and effort you put into your always fascinating blog.

2. joe - April 23, 2008

jeff, CONGRATULATIONS!!! “equity” holds a top spot on my all-time favorites as well. i knew it when it was a 164 page baby-spec. it has slimed down over the years and, as the remi award confirms, has matured in a damn fine screenplay. well done.


Leave a comment