jump to navigation

La belle, la perfectly swell romance July 8, 2006

Posted by Jeff in 1929 through WWII, Dance, Movies.
trackback

From Swing Time (1936), a movie that was originally going to be named after this number — “Never Gonna Dance”. A dance to a song about not dancing, a love duet by two people who have just broken up.

Directed by George Stevens, music by Jerome Kern and lyrics by Dorothy Fields, art direction by Van Nest Polgase, edited by Henry Berman … I met Joe Biroc, the camera operator who did the amazing crane work following them up the steps.

The dance was intended to be done in one shot (there’s a match cut after they make it to the top of the stairs). It took forty-eight takes, from mid-morning until 4 am the next day — the floor had to be re-polished between each take, and at one point they had to change Ginger’s dress which had feathers that made Fred sneeze. Towards the end Ginger’s feet were bleeding in her high heels.

The best of the best, Astaire-Rogers-wise, and just about the best of movie craftsmanship, Hollywood-wise.

Fred Astaire appears in my original screenplay, Equity.

More on Astaire, here.

Technorati tags: , , , , ,

Comments»

1. water damage cleaning - January 24, 2013

What’s up to every body, it’s my first go to see of
this webpage; this blog consists of awesome and truly good material for visitors.

2. Lourdes - January 30, 2013

Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in
accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed
account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

3. yard dumpster - February 17, 2013

What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads.
I’m hoping to give a contribution & assist other users like its helped me. Good job.

4. tree trimming equipment - March 1, 2013

{
{I have|I’ve} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. {It’s|It is} pretty worth enough for me.
{In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site
owners|websi

5. Chloe - April 12, 2013

I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did
you create this website yourself or did you hire someone
to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. kudos

6. twitter followers - May 2, 2013

Wow, this article is pleasant, my sister is analyzing these things,
so I am going to let know her. respected organization we will
twitter followers cheap and also easy.
Did you know you may twitter followers at a discount?
Buyers could twitter followers by lots of cost-effective services.

7. Joe - May 14, 2013

Hi, after reading this remarkable paragraph i am also happy to share my know-how here with mates.

8. Lower price Fresh Orleans Accommodations - May 15, 2013

fantastic points altogether, you just gained a new reader.

What might you suggest in regards to your post that you simply made some days
ago? Any sure?

9. Discount rates Motels * Evaluate Motels Price ranges - May 24, 2013

Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue together with your website in internet explorer, may test this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and a large element of folks will pass over your fantastic writing because of this problem.

10. 4701woodland.blogspot.fr - May 25, 2013

This is very fascinating, You’re a very professional blogger. I have joined your feed and look ahead to searching for more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks

11. Very last minute Resort Reservation - May 26, 2013

Wow, this paragraph is nice, my sister is analyzing such things, so I am going to
inform her.

12. Some Distinctive Hotels Of The World - May 26, 2013

I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m
quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for
the next!

13. oregiapponesi.wordpress.com - May 27, 2013

Hello, I log on to your blogs daily. Your writing style is awesome, keep it up!

14. Low-cost HOTELS Charges PHUKET - June 4, 2013

I like what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and coverage!
Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to our blogroll.

15. Van - June 6, 2013

It’s an awesome paragraph in favor of all the internet users; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

16. Latest Rap Music - June 8, 2013

What’s up friends, how is the whole thing, and what you would like to say about this post, in my view its actually amazing designed for me.

17. Basic: Travel - June 8, 2013

First of all I want to say superb blog! I had a quick
question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.

I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Thanks!

18. Find Top Checklist of Travel Directories - June 10, 2013

What’s up, the whole thing is going perfectly here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s in fact good, keep up writing.

19. Soccer Workout Plan - June 26, 2013

Thanks for your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.
I will always bookmark your blog and may come back in the foreseeable future.
I want to encourage you to definitely continue your
great posts, have a nice morning!

20. Bloggertemplate - July 13, 2013

I think that everything posted made a ton of sense. However, consider this, suppose you were to create a awesome post title?
I ain’t saying your content is not solid., however suppose you added a title to maybe get folk’s attention?
I mean La belle, la perfectly swell romance | This
is not my blog. is kinda boring. You ought to glance at Yahoo’s home page and see how they write news titles to get viewers to click. You might try adding a video or a related picture or two to get people excited about what you’ve got to
say. In my opinion, it would bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

21. Common: Travel - August 4, 2013

Everything is very open with a really clear explanation of the issues.

It was really informative. Your site is very useful.
Many thanks for sharing!

22. facebook ads - October 29, 2013

Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Taking the time and
actual effort to generate a good article… but what can I say…
I procrastinate a whole lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything
done. facebook ads 5k High quality enthusiasts For
jus $29. nine Save.
low-priced and successful how to get likes on facebook
get facebook likes free Cheap as well as Safeguarded with regard to facebook profile.

You can facebook business page by multiple retailers from reasonably priced charges.

23. instagram - May 23, 2014

After looking over a handful of the blog articles on your web site, I truly appreciate
your technique of writing a blog. I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and
will be checking back soon. Take a look at my website as well and tell me your opinion. instagram 5000 Level of
quality subscribers For jus $29. being unfaithful Save.

Clients can easily instagram via many very affordable solutions.

A good way to instagram is always to have got famous people
recruit some sort of posting for you personally.

24. youtube - September 8, 2014

Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems
as though you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why
throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog
when you could be giving us something informative to read?.
youtube
youtube
youtube

25. instagram - September 15, 2014

I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic.
I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
Thanks for magnificent info I was looking for this information for my
mission. instagram
instagram

26. youtube - September 21, 2014

Hi, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
When I look at your blog site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening
in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
Other then that, fantastic blog! youtube
youtube

27. youtube - September 23, 2014

Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up
what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
Do you have any recommendations for inexperienced blog writers?
I’d definitely appreciate it. youtube
youtube
youtube

28. twitter - September 27, 2014

Very descriptive blog, I liked that bit. Will there be
a part 2?. twitter
twitter
twitter


Leave a Reply

