jump to navigation

George MacDonald Fraser, 1925-2008 January 9, 2008

Posted by Jeff in Books I like, In memoriam.
trackback

FlashmanI had to comment on the passing of one of my favorite historical novelists, author of the twelve books known collectively as the Flashman Papers, and also several wonderful screenplays, most notably the Richard Lester movies The Three Musketeers and The Four Musketeers.

The character of Harry Paget Flashman is based upon the villain of Tom Brown’s Schooldays, the eighteenth-century novel of English public-school life that has influenced everything from the movie if … to Harry Potter. (There’s a delicious irony in that Harry is played in the movie Royal Flash by Malcolm McDowell, who also starred in if … as the victim of bullies not unlike Flashman himself.)

Flashman is an unremitting cad and coward who falls into impossible scrapes and improbably emerges time after time with his reputation intact, until he eventually becomes a hero of the Victorian era. The Flashman novels are meticulously researched and written and give a full-blooded accounting of Victorian military history.

Fraser is also the author of The Hollywood History of the World: From One Million Years B.C. to Apocalypse Now, which argues that classic Hollywood movies did a better job of accurately reporting history than they are given credit for.

Technorati tags: , , , ,

Comments»

1. Bee Hives Removal Bekkersdal - May 1, 2014

Remarkable things here. I’m very satisfied to look your
article. Thank you so much and I am taking a look forward
to touch you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

2. Au Pair Agencies Melrose Estate - July 27, 2014

I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites
really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your
website to come back down the road. All the best

3. sized call center - September 5, 2014

excellent points altogether, you just gained a brand new reader.
What could you suggest about your put up that you just made a few days ago?

Any certain?

4. web design quotes - September 5, 2014

Hey are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new
to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any coding expertise
to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

5. top software company websites - September 20, 2014

I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this weblog on regular basis to obtain updated from most recent gossip.

6. project management courses - September 20, 2014

I read this post completely about the difference of most up-to-date and preceding technologies,
it’s amazing article.

7. pulsatile tinnitus symptoms - September 27, 2014

Pretty component to content. I just stumbled
upon your ssite and inn accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your weblog posts.
Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I success you get
entry to constantly quickly.


Leave a comment