jump to navigation

It should have been Cathy’s waltz August 24, 2007

Posted by Jeff in Cool, Jazz, Music.
trackback

From 1961, the Dave Brubeck Quartet performs “Take Five” by Paul Desmond. Dave Brubeck on piano, Paul Desmond on drums, Joe Morello on drums and Gene Wright on bass.

 

“Time Out” album cover

After all these years, I am finally able to come clean on a shocking admission. In fourth grade I harbored a secret crush on Cathy Brubeck, Dave’s only daughter, for whom her dad wrote “Kathy’s Waltz” on the “Time Out” album.

I grew up in Georgetown, Connecticut, just a few miles from the Brubeck family compound in Wilton. Cathy briefly attended school with me, and she and I went to the same summer camp (Rabbit Hole Farm in Ridgefield), along with her brothers Chris and Dan.

For years I’ve read article after article about Dave and his “talented kids,” that never mentioned Cathy. I assumed (correctly) that Cathy didn’t go into professional music; even at the age I knew them, it was obvious the boys were the ones who were taking after their dad in that area.

I always wondered what ever happened to her, until last year when I found this. And just last week, as Dave was in Norwalk Hospital recuperating from an ankle injury, his granddaughter (Cathy’s daughter) gave birth in the same hospital.

Glad to see Dave is still plugging along at the age of eighty-six, although after all these years I’d still like to know why the song is called “Kathy’s Waltz” when her name is Cathy …

Technorati tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments»

1. Catherine Brubeck Yaghsizian - September 2, 2007

hello, Cathy (with a “C” )Brubeck here, wondering who this mystery crush is. Ah well…many years have gone by and yes, I still wonder too, why it is “K”athy’s Waltz, just an editor’s mistake I am told. Anyway, thanks for thinking of me. A friend from Wilton forwarded your blog to me. God Bless! Catherine B. Yaghsizian
Also check out Jazzed4ife.org

Jason Kessler - September 10, 2013
2. Anonymous - January 6, 2008

hello, Cathy (with a “C” )Brubeck here, wondering who this mystery crush is. Ah well…many years have gone by and yes, I still wonder too, why it is “K”athy’s Waltz, just an editor’s mistake I am told. Anyway, thanks for thinking of me. A friend from Wilton forwarded your blog to me. God Bless! Catherine B. Yaghsizian
Also check out Jazzed4ife.org

3. Tom Senith - November 29, 2009

I have been listening to Dave Brubeck for most of my life (born 1963). My father was a mathematician and a part time jazz trumpet player. I followed in his footsteps as a lover of jazz music, but chose the lower path of medicine instead of the purity of mathematics or music.

I still love jazz, and Brubeck is first on my list.

Dr. Tom Senith (Dr. Lot)

4. OpposableChums - December 30, 2009

Let’s hear more about Rabbit Hole! I went there.


Leave a Reply

