jump to navigation

Zombie jamboree August 8, 2007

Posted by Jeff in A cappella, Folk, Music, R&B, Rock.
trackback

Rockapella, consisting (at the time) of Elliott Kerman, Barry Carl, Scott Leonard, Jeff Thacher and Kevin Wright, performs at the Lobero Theater in Santa Barbara in 2000.

I’ve not sure what to make of these guys. There’s no question they have the skill, but they lack the spontaneity and fun of the Bobs or McFerrin. It may (or may not) be significant that my favorite of their numbers is the title of this post — and there’s no question the Kingston Trio did it better.

I’m posting this entire concert because there wasn’t any one part of it that really turned me on enough to put it up alone. So, take your pick.


Part 1: “I Am Your Man”, “Dancin’ In The Streets”, “That’s The Way”, “Let’s Get Away From It All”, “This Isn’t Love” “Pretty Woman” and “Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego?”


Part 2: “Blah Blah Blah”, “Stand By Me”, “Where Would We Be?”, “Wimoweh (The Lion Sleeps Tonight)”, “Up On The Roof”, “What A Wonderful World” and “Tempted”.


Part 3: “People Change”, “Use Me”, “Sitting On The Dock Of The Bay”, “Zombie Jamboree”, “Keep On Smilin'”, “Sixteen Tons”, “Moments Of You” and “Change In My Life”.

Technorati tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments»

1. Julia - August 8, 2007

You know, that’s my basic response to this group. As far as I’m concerned, the best song they’ve ever done was the Carmen Sandiego TV theme song.

Thad bought their Christmas album cheap a few years back, and it utterly put us to sleep. It is mouldering somewhere, unloved.

2. Jeff - August 8, 2007

Funny, when I had the idea to do a week of a cappella music, I didn’t think it would be so hard to find stuff that’s up to my standards.

There’s better to come (including, on Friday, my favorite a cappella Xmas group ever).

3. Julia - August 11, 2007

There’s always these dudes! 😉

4. Jeff - August 11, 2007

I had that very YouTube bookmarked, but it didn’t seem wrth a post of its own, and I was very disappointed with the general quality of the barbershop videos I found online.


Leave a Reply

