jump to navigation

Ingmar Bergman, 1918-2007 August 2, 2007

Posted by Jeff in 1946 through 1960, 1961 through 1989, In memoriam, Movies.
trackback

From Wild Strawberries, which I believe to be Ingmar Bergman‘s best film, the first dream of Professor Borg (Victor Sjöström).



“Wild Strawberries” poster

I don’t think I’m alone in having had a mixed reaction to Bergman’s films. I vastly prefer the humanism of Wild Strawberries, Smiles Of A Summer Night and Fanny and Alexander to the dense symbolism of Seventh Seal and Through a Glass Darkly. But there is no denying his craft and skill, nor his passion and humanity.

Some months after the opening of the film, Bergman met a childhood friend, who told him that while he was watching Wild Strawberries he “began to think of Aunt Berta, who was sitting all alone in Borlänge. I couldn’t get her out of my thoughts, and when my wife and I came home, I said let’s invite Aunt Berta over at Easter.”

That, says Bergman, is the best review he has ever had.

Peter Cowie

Technorati tags: , , ,

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

