jump to navigation

The fire and me May 9, 2007

Posted by Jeff in Zook.
trackback

The Griffith Park fire, May 8, 2007

Even in L.A. it’s not every evening you get a view like this from your front door …

I was never in any danger. The fire got to about a mile from me at its western flank, about halfway between me and the Griffith Park observatory, but a lot of houses and flatland would have to have gone up before I would have had to get out. Not that worse things haven’t happened in the history of Southern California fires, but nothing this big has ever come this close to me before.

I had heard at work that there was a fire in Griffith Park, but Griffith Park is over 4,200 acres, and at the time it didn’t seem that big. I got off the Red Line and stopped in a coffee house on a side street where I got involved in a book. I left about 7:30 pm, just before sunset, and started up Vermont … at which point I couldn’t help but notice that it seemed as if everything north of Los Feliz Boulevard was on fire. And we’re talkin’ forty-foot flames here.

My mind is boggled that no houses were lost, although as I write this the fire isn’t out yet … and over 15% of Griffith Park is gone.

Technorati tags:

Comments»

1. Jeff - May 9, 2007

Update at 4:30 Wednesday: the fire is over 50% contained with no structures lost, and the only injury is to the guy who may have started the fire with an (accidental?) cigarette near the golf course.

But the fire took out over eight hundred acres … almost 20% of the park.

Although I was in no danger from the fire, I definitely would have had to evacuate from the smoke if the wind had shifted. A friend of mine with breathing problems in Eagle Rock, five miles due east, has been suffering all day.

2. Julia - May 9, 2007

Sweet Zombie Jesus- those are some big flames. Wow. I’m glad you (and everybody around there) are okay- no injuries or houses lost.

3. Thaddeus - May 9, 2007

Glad to hear that you are all right. I heard about the fire on NPR, but didn’t know that it was so close to you.

4. Jeff - May 22, 2007

Leave a Reply

