jump to navigation

That is one honkin’ big award April 29, 2007

Posted by Jeff in 1990s to present, Movies, Zook.
trackback

15-foot armadillo humping a rock, Goode Company Barbecue, Houston, Texas

How the hell am I getting this in my carry-on?

This, on the other hand, will fit …

I am very pleased to report that I have won a Platinum Remi Award* at the 40th Houston International Film Festival for my screenplay, Eighty-Eight Frequencies.

I will not roll my eyes the next time some Oscar winner complains about the length of the ceremony. The awards started at 8:30; they didn’t feed us until after 10, so I had a beaut of a headache when I got my award just after 11 … and it didn’t end until after midnight.

Thank God I didn’t have to give a speech … if I had, I would have thanked Joe Bratcher, Judy Farrell and all my fellow future Remi winners at Twin Bridges.

My mother thanks you, my father thanks you, my sister thanks you, and I thank you.

— George M. Cohan

* Platinum means #1 in the category of Biographical Screenplay.  In Texas, gold only gets you second place.

Technorati tags: , ,

Comments»

1. Shannon allbright - April 28, 2007

Jeff!!!

I’m so happy for you!!! It’s such a great script!!! So when do we see it on the big screen…? See you when you get home. Say hello to the folks for me.

Shannon

2. Thaddeus - April 29, 2007

WOOT!!!

Very awesome Max.

3. Julia - April 29, 2007

Congratulations, Max! 😀

4. Tamara - April 29, 2007

Fellow Twin Bridgers congratulate you and are so proud! Yippee! They can recognize quality… even in Texas!

5. joe & judy - April 29, 2007

YEEEEEEEEEE HAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWW!!!

jeffery aka roscoe_karns.

houston this is los angeles.
messgage ‘bout platinum received and acknowledged.
great news. well done. well deserved.
thanks for mentioning twin bridges central.
are on our way to help carry home that ‘honking big armadillo!’
CONGRATULATIONS.
over and out.
(judy says, ‘now let’s sell that sucker!)
love,
joe & judy

6. Tina - April 29, 2007

pretty fantabulous!!

however, i would love to have seen you try and get that “big honkin” award on the plane – security would be scratchng their heads at that one.

7. Steve B - April 29, 2007

Is that armadillo humping a rock?

Congrats on the script. Good work rises to the surface, eh?

Steve B.

(Wednesday nights)

8. Jessica Reid - April 29, 2007

What great news! (But we really didn’t expect anything less, did we?) I am completely inspired. Thank you.
Jessica

9. Anonymous - April 29, 2007

Congratulations, Jeff!

Very cool and very much deserved!

Alicia

10. Peter DiCicco - April 29, 2007

Excellent news, Jeff! We all knew it was a great script, so of course it deserves it. 🙂 Congratulations!
(Only in Texas would gold be second place.)

Peter

11. Young - April 29, 2007

Jeff! (Or should I call you “Mr. Massie”?)

Congrats!!!!! Great to see that nice guys do NOT finish last!

And now to what Judy said… Let’s sell that sucker!!!

Young

12. Jeff - October 16, 2007
13. For some reason, they love me in Texas « This is not my blog. - April 11, 2008

[…] April, I travelled to Houston to pick up my Platinum Remi for Eighty-Eight Frequencies. This year I’m not going to Houston, […]


Leave a Reply

