jump to navigation

Robert Altman, 1925-2006 November 29, 2006

Posted by Jeff in 1961 through 1989, 1990s to present, In memoriam, Movies.
trackback

Truth be told (and I’ve never seen any reason to lie about it), I was and am not a huge Robert Altman fan. But it’s significant that I went to see Nashville four times, even though I really didn’t like it any better the fourth time than I did the first. Of course, it was the seventies, and even overrated movies from that era are more interesting than many universally acclaimed movies that come out nowadays.

I loved M*A*S*H whe I saw it in high school, but I saw it again about ten years ago and it didn’t hold up. I know I saw McCabe and Mrs. Miller but I can barely remember it; all I remember of Thieves Like Us was that for absolutely no reason I could fathom Shelley Duvall was drinking a Coke in just about every scene. I really hated Buffalo Bill and the Indians. And I think it’s hilarious how many of Altman’s eulogists are saying that he “never sold out”. How could everyone have forgotten Popeye, considering how many times it played on HBO?

There are several notable exceptions: along with most everyone else I really liked The Player and Gosford Park, and I think Cookie’s Fortune may be only Altman movie I can honestly say is underrated. I also retain affection for two of his relatively earlier films. Not having seen A Wedding in many years, I can only say that no one since silent days ever did a better job directing Lillian Gish.

And I have always had a soft spot for Brewster McCloud, Altman’s M*A*S*H followup. Here it is, complete if fragmented.

Part 1 of 10:

Part 2 of 10:

Part 3 of 10:

Part 4 of 10:

Part 5 of 10:

Part 6 of 10:

Part 7 of 10:

Part 8 of 10:

Part 9 of 10:

Part 10 of 10:

Technorati tags: , , , ,

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

